Radio Awards

Elite Panel Revealed for the 2024 NYF Radio Awards: Esteemed Judges from 19 Countries Across the Globe to Honor Storytelling Excellence

The New York Festivals® 2024 Radio Awards competition has announced this year’s distinguished Radio Awards Grand Jury. This year's world-class Grand Jury comprises distinguished radio industry leaders from 19 countries across 6 continents.

New York, NY | November 30, 2023

New York, NY – November 30, 2023: The New York Festivals® 2024 Radio Awards competition has announced this year’s distinguished Radio Awards Grand Jury.

This year's world-class Grand Jury comprises distinguished radio industry leaders from 19 countries across 6 continents.This jury panel of 100+ esteemed content creators, industry visionaries, and iconic voices, includes directors, producers, journalists, writers, and sound artists who personify passion and innovation in audio entertainment. The reputation and diverse expertise of the 2024 Grand Jury ensures that every entry receives the meticulous attention it deserves during this peer-judging process.

“We are thrilled to welcome these globally recognized super-achievers to the 2024 Grand Jury,” said Rose Anderson, EVP & Executive Director New York Festivals Radio Awards. “Their collective wealth of hands-on knowledge, their commitment to excellence and the proven mastery of their craft in fields as diverse as investigative journalism, audio books, drama, talk, and live events show how robust the world of radio is today.”

Recruited from the ranks of globally renowned companies, these leaders and storytellers are at the forefront of championing innovative storytelling across all genres and platforms, including news, documentary, entertainment, sports, and image.

The impressive lineup of companies our jurors represent encompasses global networks, production companies, radio stations, publishing houses and more including BBC, Radio Mitre S.A., Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, SiriusXM, Geller Media International, Pushkin Industries, HarperCollins Publishers UK, Radio-Canada Ohdio, DMC Studio Argentina, Talkers Magazine, Radio Mirchi, B7 Productions Limited, Accompany Studios, Open To Debate, Zinc Media, Bioneers, iHeart Media,TBI Media, Magnum Opus Broadcasting, NASA/JPL, Radio City, Virgin Radio UK, New York Philharmonic, Crooked Media, Seoul Media Foundation TBS, Radio City, CliffCentral, Virgin Radio UK, and Clare FM. 

A partial list of our prominent jurors includes:

  • Rory Belfi, SiriusXM, Vice President, Talk Programming, USA
  • Andrew Biggs, Imaging Producer / Director, Eyesound - New Zealand
  • Benoit Bories, Director/Producer, Faïdos Sonore/Créations sonores - France
  • Rina Broomberg, Director, CliffCentral – South Africa
  • Diego Cannizzaro, Owner & Director, DMC Studio - Argentina
  • Jennie Cataldo, Owner & Producer, Accompany Studios - USA
  • Chris Colbert, Chief Executive Officer, DCP Entertainment - USA
  • Clea Connor, CEO Open To Debate - USA
  • Nick Davis, Executive Director, Engagement & Inclusion, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation - Canada
  • Zayd Ayers Dohrn, Playwright/Screenwriter/Executive Producer - USA
  • Padraic Flaherty, Head of Operations & Group Program Director, Clare FM - Ireland
  • Rebecca Fortuin, Senior Audio Editor for HQ, M&B and Farshore, HarperCollins Publishers - UK
  • Lauren Hansen, iHeart Media, Producer - USA
  • Emily Harris, Bioneers, Media Producer - USA
  • Dylan Haskins, Commissioning Executive for Podcasts, BBC Sounds & BBC Radio 5 Live - UK
  • Havoc Franklin, CBC Radio, CBC Content Development - Canada
  • Geoff Jein, Independent Producer - UK
  • Steve Levine, Owner & Producer, Magnum Opus - United Kingdom
  • Liliana Manna, Independent, Journalist - Argentina
  • Leslie Mullen, Producer, NASA/JPL - USA
  • Götz Naleppa, Drama Director & Sound Artist, Naleppa Audio Productions - Germany
  • Anurita Patel, Vice President, Zonal Programming & Audacity, Radio City - India
  • Karen Pearson, CEO, Folded Wing - UK
  • Jason Phipps, Head of Content & Development, Chalk + Blasé - UK
  • Helen Quigley, Head of Production, B7 Production Limited - UK
  • Tim Rohan, Independent Journalist - USA
  • Des Shaw, Co-Founder, Zinc Media - UK
  • Helen Shaw, Founder/Director, Athena Media - Ireland
  • Lou Simon, SiriusXM Radio, Vice President, Music Programming - USA
  • Alison Toomey, Real Films Ltd, Producer/Director/Co-founder - Ireland
  • Mark Travis, Director Media Production, New York Philharmonic - USA
  • Elisabeth Weilenmann, Director, ORF - Austria
  • Karena Wynn-Moylan, Presenter/Producer, Bay FM radio 99.9 - Australia

View this year’s distinguished 2024 Grand Jury: HERE.

The NYF Radio Awards Grand Jury meticulously reviews all entries during online judging panels, evaluating each submission based on industry-specific criteria to determine scores. The judging panels award Gold, Silver, and Bronze Trophies, with the highest-scoring entries earning the prestigious Grand Trophy. Additionally, the awards include Special Industry Awards recognizing the Broadcaster of the Year and Production Company of the Year.

The annual National Press Club Award will go to the highest scoring entry in the following news program categories: Coverage Of Breaking News Story, Coverage Of Ongoing News Story, Nonfiction Series and News Podcast. 

NYF’s Radio Awards receives entries from radio stations, networks, and independent producers from over 30 countries around the globe. The mission of the competition is to honor the achievements of the men and women who make up the global audio storytelling community.

All Entries in NYF’s 2024 Radio Awards will be judged by the NYF Grand Jury of 100+ producers, directors, writers, and other creative media professionals from around the globe. Entries are judged on production values, creativity, content presentation, direction, writing, achievement of purpose, and audience suitability.  

Award-winning entries for 2024 will be showcased in the Radio Awards winners gallery. To view the 2023 Radio Awards winner’s gallery, visit HERE.  All award winners will be celebrated at the 2024 Storytellers Gala on April 16th, view the 2023 Storytellers Gala.

To enter the 2024 Radio Awards please visit: HERE, for additional information visit: Rules and Regulations and 2024 Radio Awards categories. The entry deadline for the 2024 Radio Awards competition is January 31, 2024.

About New York Festivals: New York Festivals ®

Celebrating the World’s Best Work since 1957

Advertising Awards
AME Awards ®
NYF Health Awards ®
Radio Awards
TV & Film Awards

About NAB Show

The 2024 NAB Show will be held April 14-17 at the Las Vegas Convention Center. NAB Show is the world's largest and most comprehensive convention encompassing the convergence of media, entertainment, and technology. NAB Show is where global visionaries convene to bring content to life in new and exciting ways.

About NAB 

The National Association of Broadcasters is the premier advocacy association for America's broadcasters. NAB advances radio and television interests in legislative, regulatory and public affairs. Through advocacy, education and innovation, NAB enables broadcasters to best serve their communities, strengthen their businesses and seize new opportunities in the digital age. Learn more at